DRIFT RIDE GUIDE

Japan drift ride-along guide

Tokyo Drift Tours: Which Ones Actually Drift?

PR: This page contains affiliate links. If you book through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Everything below comes from the listings and operator pages as they appeared on 20 October 2026. Prices, inclusions and availability change, so check the booking page before you pay.

The short answer

"Tokyo drift" tours are three different products with the same name. Only one of them is a pro driver sliding the car sideways around a closed track with you in the passenger seat.

Compare them side by side

Type Where Drifts? Listed price Transport from Tokyo
Passenger ride, Wangun OG (own site) Minami-Chiba Circuit, a closed drift track Yes, per the operator's page ¥55,000 per person, 2-person minimum Included, from Shinbashi
Same ride on Headout Closed circuit in Chiba Yes, per the listing US$473.10 Included
Drift lesson plus side-ride, GetYourGuide Closed circuit in Chiba Yes from US$538 per person Included
Klook drift experience Chiba, circuit not named Yes NT$12,830 (the page notes a minimum of 2; check whether that is per person) Hotel pickup listed, but the page also says to meet at a set place
Viator, Tokyo Drift Lesson (self-driving and ride-alongs) A private track named "Japan Track" (location not given; one review says about 1.5 hours from Tokyo) Yes. You drive; advanced drivers also give ride-alongs from US$452.25 per person (the Toyota Altezza lesson option is from US$775.28), about 6 hours Meet in Shinbashi; the listing does not state transport, so confirm
Viator, self-drive drift lesson Minami Chiba Circuit, Chiba Yes. You drive, with an instructor from US$709.68 per person, private, about 6 hours (about 3 hours of lesson) Included, pickup within about 5 km of central Tokyo, drop-off at Tokyo Station
Viator, Minami Chiba Circuit drift experience Minami Chiba Circuit, Chiba Drift circuit; the listing does not say whether you drive or ride from US$710.96 per person, private, 6 to 8 hours Included, hotel pickup in Tokyo's 23 wards
Viator, Ebisu Circuit drifting experience Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Yes (a drift circuit). The wording suggests you drive, but it is not stated from US$1,486.57 per person, private, 12 to 16 hours Included, hotel pickup in Tokyo's 23 wards
Viator, "Tokyo Drift: JDM Night Drive to Daikoku Car Meet" Tokyo roads, Daikoku Parking Area, Tokyo Tower No. The listing excludes "illegal activities such as drifting and racing" from US$153.50 per person (a US$92.10 banner price does not match; check at booking) Included, hotel pickup in central Tokyo, 3 to 4 hours
Daikoku "drift car" tours, Viator Daikoku Parking Area Not stated; one review says no from US$206 per person Included
Daikoku excursion, GetYourGuide Daikoku Parking Area Not stated; page says "no street drift" US$512 per group of up to 3 Included
Official Ebisu Drift Taxi Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Yes about ¥50,000 per car Not included. See the Ebisu guide

Prices are in the currency each listing shows, so they cannot be compared directly. The same Wangun OG ride appears at ¥55,000 on the operator's site and US$473.10 on Headout.

How to tell if a tour really drifts

  1. Does the listing say "closed circuit" or name a track? Drifting on public roads or a parking area is not what these tours sell.
  2. Does it say you ride with a professional drift driver? Look for "passenger ride" or "side-ride".
  3. Does the description say what the car does? One Viator night tour is titled "Tokyo Drift" yet lists drifting and racing as not included, so the name tells you nothing. One Daikoku listing says you ride in a drift car and visit the car meet, but does not say whether it drifts. The GetYourGuide Daikoku page adds "no street drift".
  4. Read the one- and three-star reviews. On the Viator Daikoku listing, a one-star review says "We were indeed driven in a drift car but don't think you'll be drifting or even speeding." Another review says the visit was cut short when police closed off the area.
  5. Check what is included. Transport, insurance, helmet, photos and food differ by seller. The Wangun OG listing on Headout, for instance, lists personal accident insurance as not included. The Rakuten listing for Ebisu says its ¥500 insurance is included, while the circuit's own booking page lists it as extra. When two pages disagree, trust the operator's own page and ask.

Which one should you pick?

Cancellation, as listed

What about the Uber Drift experience?

Uber Japan ran a ¥30,000-per-group drift experience at Mobara Twin Circuit with professional drivers, but only from 3 June to 1 July 2026. It has ended.

Book


Sources: Wangun OG, Headout, Klook, GetYourGuide, Viator, Rakuten Travel Experiences, Fukushima Travel, Advertimes. Listings checked 20 October 2026. I have not taken these tours myself; this is a research-based comparison.